Pin Zones in India

There are nine PIN zones in India, it includes eight regional PIN zones and one functional PIN zone (for the Indian Army purpose). The first digit of the PIN code indicates the “region”. The second digit indicates the “sub-region”, and the third digit indicates the “sorting district within the region”. The final three digits are assigned to “individual post offices”.

The 9 PIN zones cover the Indian states and union territories as follows:

1 – Delhi, Haryana, Punjab, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Chandigarh
2 – Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand
3 – Rajasthan, Gujarat, Daman and Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4 – Goa, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh
5 – Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Telangana
6 – Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Puducherry, Lakshadweep
7 – Odisha, West Bengal, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, Manipur, Mizoram, Tripura, Meghalaya, Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Assam, Sikkim
8 – Bihar, Jharkhand
9 – Army Post office (APO) and Field Post office (FPO)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *